UMass CESL promotes learning for life-long, engaged citizenship, partnering with communities on and off campus to work collectively for a more just society.

Twenty-Two Students Honored with 2016 ACT Awards

The UMass Provost’s Committee for Service-Learning, recently honored UMass twenty-two students (undergrads and grad students) with the Academic/Community Transformation (ACT) Award for their work connecting academic learning and community engagement in transformative ways. Students are nominated for this award by faculty members who teach courses designated either as Civic Engagement or Service-Learning.

It is a tremendous privilege to receive the faculty members’ nominations and to hear about the incredible work being undertaken by our students that impacts their own learning, the learning of other students, and supports work of our many community partners throughout the Pioneer Valley.

Congratualtions to all of the 2016 ACT Award Honorees

The 2016 ACT Awardees, who represent fifteen different academic departments, are:

Nargis Aslami, Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies nominated by Ann Ferguson
Tyler Barron, Sustainable Food & Farming & BDIC nomainted by Yedalis Ruiz
Brian Bevilacqua English & Journalism nominated by Nichoals McBride
Emily Devenney, Public Policy nominated by Ellen Pader
Olivia Espinoza, STPEC nominated by Jen Sandler
Maria Fallavollita, majoring in Public Health nominated by John Reiff
Jonah Frielich, Economics & Psychology nominated by Marian L. MacDonald
Catherine Gensler, Food Science nominated by Katja Hahn d'Errico
Benjamin Green, Natural Resource Conservation nominated by Rick Harper
Amy Halliday, History nominated by Jessica Johnson
Kristie Herman, Psychology & BDIC nominated by Jen Sandler
Sarah Kurvilla, Public Health nominated by Boone Shear
Henri Jean Claude, Economics nominated by Rus Janis
Danielle Lewis, Psychology & Public Health nominated by Jen Dolan
Ashley McElhinney, Environmental Science nominated by Rick Harper
Chelsea Miller, History nominated by Jessica Johnson & Marla Miller
Joseph Newton, Economics nominated by Rus
Janis Michelle Nikfarjam, Sustainable Food & Farming nominated by Sarah Berquist
Shelby Ripa, Psychology nominated by Carol Soules
Courtney Stacey, BDIC nominated by Katja Hahn D'Errico
Jaclyn Weston, Nutrition nominated by Lindi Sibeko & Lorriane Cordeiro
Tova Weinronk, Public Health nominated by Chris Felton